A fine chop suey

What is the first thing one would crave after an uninspired veggie burger for lunch? Why this of course.

Not only did I choose the veggie burger because I really wanted a meatless lunch but I was attempting to make a healthy lunch selection. Why not a salad one would ask, and rightfully so. My lunch really turned out to be more a samosa on a bun rather than a patty made of vegetables. Keeping on my quest for a healthy lunch, I ate a grapefruit for dessert. That said, I decided on a tofu chop suey of sorts for my dinner tonight. Veggies, veggies, veggies- Grains, grains, grains! This shall be my new mantra.

Tofu selection is very important, the firmer the better. It makes it more of a versatile cooking ingredient and doesn’t turn whatever you are making into a tofu scramble. I was recently introduced to this tofu, Fresh Tofu, Inc. It’s local and obviously made with love. How can you not love that? It stays together better than any other tofu I have tried and the flavor is somehow richer. It’s tofu, is that really possible? Yes.

Always remember to press out the tofu.Use whatever method works best, just get as much water out as you can.

I had a few cremini mushrooms in my refrigerator (you may remember the previous post regarding the mushroom risotto that never materialized). Add some garlic (3 cloves) a thumb size of ginger (grated), some swiss chard, red pepper, and zucchini purchased yesterday on a whim.

Mix together a tablespoon of sherry, a tablespoon of soy sauce, pinch of salt, two teaspoons of sesame oil, some honey and a teeny bit of corn starch. Make some brown rice and voila, health in a bowl. Now I can take this for lunch tomorrow and samosa on a bun won’t even be an option. Oh, and as always don’t forget the hot sauce.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

